Grace, Heart, Life,Core 


“In the bleak midwinter”

By Christina Rossetti 
In the bleak midwinter

Frosty wind made moan, 

Earth stood hard as iron, 

Water like a stone: 

Snow had fallen, snow on snow 

Snow on snow, 

In the bleak mid-winter, 

Long ago.
Our God, heaven cannot hold him 

Nor earth sustain; 

Heaven and earth shall flee away 

When he comes to reign: 

In the bleak mid-winter 

A stable-place sufficed 

The Lord God Almighty 

Jesus Christ.
Enough for him, whom cherubim 

Worship night and day, 

A breastful of milk, 

And a mangerful of hay: 

Enough for him, whom angels 

Fall down before, 

The ox and ass and camel 

Which adore.
Angels and archangels 

May have gathered there, 

Cherubim and seraphim 

Thronged the air – 

But only his mother 

In her maiden bliss 

Worshipped the beloved 

With a kiss.
What can I give him, 

Poor as I am? 

If I were a shepherd 

I would bring a lamb; 

If I were a wise man 

I would do my part; 

Yet what I can, I give him – 

Give my heart.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

